Detroit Pistons Announce 10 Nominees For Game Changer of the Year

Fans Vote on To Select Winner of Chrysler 300C

Oct 2, 2013

AUBURN HILLS, Mich. – The Detroit Pistons announce the 10 nominees for the 2013 Game Changer of the Year. Fans can vote online at starting Oct. 2, selecting a winner to receive the Game Changer of the Year award – a 2013 Chrysler 300C John Varvatos Limited Edition – at the Nov. 25 Pistons vs. Milwaukee Bucks home game at The Palace of Auburn Hills.

The Pistons will present the inaugural Game Changer of the Year award on a Pistons’ Hometown Hero Monday through the Pistons’ Community Relations platform, Come Together – which embodies the goal of utilizing the Pistons and Palace to bring Michigan together, celebrating those that make a positive impact through volunteerism in their own communities.

Learn about this year’s 10 nominees and their inspiring stories at

Amy Burk, Flushing, Mich.
Brianna Moore, Detroit, Mich.
Kenyetta Dotson, Flint, Mich.
Lena Pernell, Detroit, Mich.
Reggie Hartsfield, Detroit, Mich.
Veronika Scott, Detroit, Mich.
Anthony Ianni, East Lansing, Mich.
Don Wackerle, Pinconning, Mich.
Jamie Jones, Albion, Mich.
Alex Zayid, Commerce Township, Mich.

Through Oct. 18, fan voting will narrow the number of nominees from 10 to three and those finalists will be announced on Oct. 30. Final voting for the Game Changer of the Year takes place online at, Nov. 1-15.

Game Changers – who are making a difference in their community through leadership, service and volunteerism – can be nominated in-person at Pistons home games or any time a Selected Game Changers and their inspirational stories are recognized at Pistons home games.

“The Game Changers program thanks the unsung heroes who are helping others in the community, while encouraging others to give back,” said Dennis Mannion, CEO and president of Palace Sports & Entertainment. “It’s really important for the Pistons and Come Together to recognize how invaluable a Game Change is to the people they help, and the Chrysler 300C is a grand symbol to honor those leading by example.”